Walpola Rahula I n the Yogacara Vijnanavada School of Buddhism, alayavijnana is one of the most important doctrines developed by Asanga fourth century A. He divides the vijnanaskandha Aggregate of Conciousness the fifth of the five skandhas, into three different aspects or layers, namely, citta, manas and vijnana. In the Theravada Tipitaka as well as in the Pali Commentaries, these three terms - citta, manas, vijnana - are considered as synonyms denoting the same thing. The Sarvistivada also takes them as synonyms. Even the Lankavatarasutra, which is purely a Mahayana text, calls them synonyms although their separate functions are mentioned elsewhere in the same sutra. Vasubandhu, too, in his Vimsatikavijnapti-matratasiddhi considers them as synonyms.

Author:Kagalmaran Gardakazahn
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):5 May 2009
PDF File Size:9.69 Mb
ePub File Size:5.25 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

Retrieved Boston: Wisdom Publications. For more information, see the section, " Overlapping Pali terms for mind ," below. This simpler unecclesiastical, unscholastic popular meaning is met with in other suttas. Thus, the faculty of awareness of the mind the base of, e. Regarding SN For instance, the Mahanidana Sutta DN 15 Thanissaro, a Archived April 21, , at the Wayback Machine identifies only nine causes omitting the six sense bases, formations and ignorance and the initial text of the Nalakalapiyo Sutta SN These six are classes of consciousness: eye-consciousness, ear-consciousness, nose-consciousness, tongue-consciousness, body-consciousness, intellect-consciousness.

This is called consciousness. See AN 7. Also see Thanissaro Parenthetical phrase " the monk " is in the original translation. Also see Bodhi b , pp. These two different statements are not however contradictory insomuch that, as indicated by the Five Aggregates model, name-form includes mental fabrications see the "Five Aggregates" diagram above. In an end note on p. In Karel Werner, ed. Curzon Press , page Archived from the original on Third revised edition published by NUS Press, page 66, [1].


Post Disaster Technology

Zen Buddhism Expert B. The Sanskrit word alaya literally means "all ground," which suggests a foundation or basis. It is often translated as "substratum. Although it is often translated as "mind," it is not mind in the usual sense of the English word. Mental functions such as reasoning, recognizing or forming opinions are the jobs of other skandhas. Alaya-vijnana, then, suggests a substratum of consciousness. Is this something like what western psychology calls "the subconscious"?


Eight Consciousnesses

According to the traditional interpretation, the other seven consciousnesses are "evolving" or "transforming" consciousnesses originating in this base-consciousness. It is the storehouse-consciousness which induces rebirth , causing the origination of a new existence. It is also called mind "citta" because it is heaped up and accumulated by [the six cognitive objects, i. Because of this mixture the transformation of consciousness from defilement to purity can take place and awakening is possible. It was easier to deny that a "stream" represented a reified self.

Related Articles